|What:||Historic building c1763|
|Then:||Following a visit to Stroud by John Wesley in 1742, the Methodists worked to build an octagonal chapel known as The Round House at the top of Stroud Hill. Despite modification this distinctive chapel was, and still is, unique|
|Now:||The building was sold to the Salvation Army in 1879|
John Wesley came to Stroud early in his outdoor preaching career. He records a visit on 26 July 1742, when he stood on a butcher's block in the Shambles. Thereafter Stroud, "where there is a considerable increase in the work of God", was on his itinerary in the middle of March for many years.Wesley's hosts in Stroud were often the Arundell family of Arundell Mill. He dissuaded his friend Nancy Bolton of Witney (Oxon) from marrying John Arundell, thus causing distress to both families.This building, known as the Round House because of its octagonal plan, was built in 1763, but its distinctive shape was largely lost when it was enlarged in 1796. It is still the oldest surviving octagonal Methodist chapel in the world, and retains a five-sided gallery from the mid 18th century.In 1851, the church had congregations of 300-400. In 1876, a replacement Methodist Chapel was built in Castle Street and the old building was sold to the Salvation Army in 1879.