|What:||Small hamlet between Bowbridge and Rodborough Common|
|Where:||Located around Butterrow Hill|
|Then:||References to a settlement start from 1638 and the opening of the Woolpack Inn in 1805|
|Now:||Housing - private and council|
Butterrow (sometimes spelt Butter Row) developed as a hamlet on the steep side road leading up from Bowbridge onto Rodborough Common. Settlement had begun by 1638, and the Woolpack Inn had opened by 1805. There is a fine Gothic tollhouse of 1825, which retains its board setting out the tolls charged. The small Zion Primitive Methodist Chapel was built in 1856.
Building intensified in the late 19th and 20th centuries, when vacant plots were infilled. A row of semi-detached brick houses was built in 1900, and some Council housing was added later.
In 1797, Montserrat House, south of Butterrow in a prominent position on the edge of the common, was sold by John Cooper of Woodchester, clothier. It later belonged to the carrier A.K. Baylis, a partner in the firm of Tanner & Baylis and was among his assets sold for the benefit of his creditors in 1844. The house was demolished about 1940. Nearby is a former Board School of 1878-79.
Mount Vernon, a Gothic-style house above Butterrow, was built c.1800 and enlarged in a picturesque Regency Gothic style shortly before 1824, by the dyer Joseph Partridge, who lived there until he bought the Woodhouse estate in 1853.